Basketball News

Stephen Curry Wins 2023-24 PBWA Magic Johnson Trophy

Golden State Warriors star Stephen Curry has won the 2023-24 Magic Johnson Award, the Professional Basketball Writers Association (PBWA) announced Wednesday.

The award is named in honor of NBA Hall of Famer Earvin “Magic” Johnson, whom the writers association describes as a “fit model” for this achievement. The annual award is voted on by more than 200 PBWA-affiliated writers and editors.

The award, established in 2001, honors an NBA player who excels on the court and in demonstrating “cooperation and kindness in dealing with the media and fans,” according to the organization.

This is Magic Johnson's second Curry award, which he also won in 2016. Damian Lillard (2017, 2020) and Shane Battier (2007, 2013) are the other two-time winners. Ray Allen was the first recipient of the award in 2001.

Apart from Curry, the other four finalists this year are Bam Adebayo (Miami Heat), DeMar DeRozan (Chicago Bulls), Rudy Gobert (Minnesota Timberwolves), and Tyrese Haliburton (Indiana Pacers).

Other NBA stars who have won this award include Kevin Durant (2011), Dirk Nowitzki (2014), and Pau Gasol (2015). Chris Bosh (2010) and DeRozan (2018) won their awards with the Toronto Raptors.

Warriors star Stephen Curry won the second Magic Johnson Award for “cooperation and kindness” in dealing with fans, media.

In April, Curry was named the 2023-24 NBA Clutch Player of the Year. Curry finished with 45 points in first place with 298 points. DeRozan (34 first-place votes, 272 points) placed second. Shai Gilgeous-Alexander (11 first-place votes, 160 points) is a distant third.

The 10-time All-Star guard led the league in multiple catch categories, including points (189), 3-pointers (32), and field goals made (59).

Additionally, Curry led the league in clutch shooting metrics, shooting 49.6% from the field, 45.7% from 3-point range, and 39-of-41 (95.1%) from the free throw line.

On February 3 at Atlanta, he scored a season-high 22 points and recorded his second career 60-point outing. Golden State has made more clutch plays (48) than any other team in the league.

For the 2022-23 season, Stephen Curry won the J. Walter Kennedy was also named a champion of social justice, winning the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Trophy.

The Citizenship Award is given to the NBA player who best demonstrates “good service and dedication to the community.”

In addition, Warriors coach Steve Kerr received the PBWA's Rudy Tomjanovich Award on Tuesday for the third time. The award goes to the NBA coach who best demonstrates cooperation with the media and the public.

The Magic Johnson Award was not awarded in 2021 or 2022 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button