Football News

Real Madrid and Ancelotti say they will play

Real Madrid have said they will play at the Fifa World Club 2025 “with pride” despite manager Carlo Ancelotti being quoted as telling the world governing body they may “forget” any chance of the Uefa Champions League winners taking part.

Ancelotti is reported to have said there is “no way” Madrid will take part in the tournament, which is scheduled by the governing body for June and July 2025 in the US.

“It never happened [our] participation in the new Club World Cup… has been questioned,” Madrid said in a statement released hours after Il Giornale published an interview with the 65-year-old player.

“Therefore, our club will compete, as planned, in this official competition that we are facing with pride and great enthusiasm to make millions of our fans around the world dream again of a new title.”

In another statement, Ancelotti said the words “were not interpreted in the way I intended”, adding: “There is nothing I am more determined than to refuse to play in a competition that I consider a good opportunity to continue.” we are fighting for big titles with Real Madrid.”

Club World Cup: Ancelotti cites 'misinterpretation'

The competition is usually held in December and January but an extended version is proposed to take place in the summer and involve 32 clubs from around the world, leading to concerns about player scheduling requirements.

“Fifa can forget about it,” the Italian outlet quoted Ancelotti as saying. “The team and football players will not participate in that competition.

“One Real Madrid match costs 20 million and Fifa wants to give us that amount for the whole tournament. It's impossible. Like us, other clubs will reject the invitation.”

Club World Cup 2025: Union issues

Last month, FIFPro and the World Leagues Association announced possible legal action if the dates were changed.

In a letter reported by BBC Sport, Fifa is said to have rejected the unions' complaints that they were not consulted and does not agree with their analysis of the situation.

The seven teams taking part in the 2023 edition include the champions of the six continental confederations and the host nation Saudi Arabia, Al-Ittihad.

Premier League champions Manchester City won the final on December 22, defeating Brazilian rivals Fluminense.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button